Conductor, Musicologist, Keyboard player

Haydn arranged by Wranitzky

May 8, 2009


Christopher’s new editions of some familiar works by Haydn, as
transformed by his contemporary Paul Wranitzky, have just been
published by Edition HH. Wranitzky added flute, oboe, two horns and
double bass to the scoring of six of Haydn’s most popular string
quartets (Opp.71 and 74), re-naming them Divertimenti. Although
these 'amplifications' were undoubtedly intended as a subtle form of
flattery towards Haydn, Wranitzky was nevertheless certainly not
afraid to depart from the original and use his own creative instinct;
he adds idiomatic horn parts, new and different expression markings
and re-allocates music from strings to winds. The results were works
of a more symphonic nature that allowed for larger-scale public
performances of some of Haydn’s most popular chamber pieces.

The arrangements were originally published in 1800 but were
subsequently little known until the bicentenary of Wranitzky’s death
prompted a renewal of interested in the composer's activities. The
first three Divertimenti are available now; to buy your own copies
visit the Edition HH website.


powered by typomania