Conductor, Musicologist, Keyboard player

First Urtext Edition of Elgar's Enigma Variations

February 5, 2008


Variations on an Original Theme for Orchestra, Op. 36 'Enigma'
Bärenreiter BA9042

Christopher's eagerly awaited edition of Elgar's Enigma Variations is now available!

Edward Elgar’s popular Enigma Variations, composed between 1898-99 is a collection of variations on an original theme - each of the variations is dedicated to one of his close friends - or as Elgar himself put it: »Dedicated to my Friends Pictured Within«.

Christopher's new Urtext edition makes use of all known source material including the early sketches, autograph score and the revised text from 1904. The new edition clarifies discrepancies between the score and reprintings of the orchestral material while also documenting Elgar’s revisions. The edition contains the original ending to the Intermezzo (Variation X) as well as the original ending to the last variation.

To read the full introduction to the edition visit the Featured Publications section of the website.

To buy the score and parts please visit


powered by typomania